Creative Writing Prompt, writersdigest.com

You are standing at the altar waiting to marry the person of your dreams. The preacher says, “Should anyone here present know of any reason that this couple should not be joined in holy matrimony, speak now or forever hold your peace.” You smile at your soon-to-be spouse, ready to get on with the vows. Suddenly—just like the movies—the chapel doors burst open. “I object!” You turn to see who dared to interrupt your day. It’s your ex. Finish the scene.

 

You are absolutely stunned. It’s been years since you’ve seen him, and let’s be real… you aren’t even Facebook friends. What in the hell is Alex doing?

 

“I know I told you I would stand back and let you go if that’s what it took. And after I’ve said my piece I will I promise, but I really need you to hear this, please.”

 

His eyes had taken on a desperate, pleading look and he could barely control his panting. Even in college he was more prone to video games and smoking out than he was to working out. Looked like that hadn’t changed in the last ten years. Still, he managed to catch his breath. Taking her shocked silence as assent he took another step forward and clasped his hands.

 

“You told me once that I was the love of your life and no one would ever be able to understand you as I could.”

 

Not exactly the way she remembered their semester long “romance” which ended with her on academic probation. He wasn’t the only one who prefered the “j” to the gym in those days.

 

“Even after you met him it was still me you came to when your mother died. My shirt you soaked with your tears, my arms that held you as you went to sleep.”

 

I turned to my mom and shrugged.

 

“I wrote a sonnet for you,” he said as he reached into his back pocket simultaneously wiping the beads of sweat from his forehead.

 

He had gone on long enough. I pushed back my veil and he stopped short with the paper half pulled from his back pocket.

 

“You aren’t Vanessa, “ he said his jaw going slack.

 

“No shit, Alex, it’s me.”

 

“Who?”

 

“Danielle…” silence, “You know, sophomore year?”

 

“Oh,” he said, finally recognizing me. “You know Vanessa?”

 

I threw up my hands in frustration. “No, Alex, I don’t.”

 

“She’s not here then…” his eyes went wide as he looked around at the pews.

 

“Sorry sweety.”

 

“This isn’t Holy Trinity? Nope, Union Trinity.”

 

“I know where Holy Trinity is!” called out my cousin’s date.

 

Alex scurried over and got hurried whispered instructions while I stood on the altar holding Paul’s hand.

 

“Got it. Got it!” Alex said as he rushed back out the door.

 

“Good Luck!” we called.

 

“Go Gators!” He yelled over his shoulder as the doors slammed shut.

